Race to Parliament: Bigwigs fall as new entrants take position

BY: Hadiza Nuhhu-Billa Quansah
In total at least 110 out of the 275 current MPs are not returning to the House from January 7, 2021.

Although the Electoral Commission (EC) declared Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, the presidential candidate of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), as the winner of the presidential election held on Monday, December 7, 2020, the results for the parliamentary election seems to be hanging.

As at the time of going to press, information available indicated that both the NPP and the National Democratic Congress (NDC) were saying they have all grabbed 135 seats respectively with one independent candidate standing in the middle.

In all, four seats are in contention. However, as of Thursday afternoon, NDC parliamentary candidate for the Upper Denkyira West, Daniel Ohene Darko, was declared Member of Parliament (MP) elect for the area.

This was after consultation with the Regional Directorate of the Electoral Commission and the executive of the NDC and the NPP.

At the close of collation, the NPP’s Samuel Nsowah Dzan obtained 17,925 votes and Daniel Ohene Darko polled 18,446 votes.

This brings the NDC’s seats in Parliament to 136 with three more constituency results pending.

Haruna Iddrisu, Minority Leader of Parliament retain  Tamale South

The EC on Thursday evening issued a press release indicating that NPP had won 137 Parliamentary seats as against 136 by the NDC out of the total 274 seats declared currently. The outstanding Sene West seat was contested by three candidates in Monday's elections. They are the incumbent Kwame Ampofo Twumasi of the NDC, Joseph Kumah Mackay of NPP and Caesar Fomekah of the National Democratic Party.

The EC in a press release said the Sene West Parliamentary results were outstanding while the Fomena seat was won by independent candidate Mr Andrew Amoako Asiamah.

This election came with a lot of surprises and suspense, as well-known MPs who are also ministers, lost their seats.

At least 28 incumbent NPP legislators were unseated in Monday’s elections.

Ursula Owusu-Ekuful retained Ablekuma West

About 21 of them are either ministers, ministers of state or deputy ministers. About 41 of the NPP sitting MPS lost the primaries earlier this year and as a result, did not contest Monday’s elections.
Besides, some notable faces have decided to retire from parliament after serving their people a number of terms. They include Shirley Ayorkor Botchway of Anyaa Sowutuom, Kwabena Appiah Pinkrah of Akrofuom, Dr Anthony Akoto Osei of Tafo Pankrono and Dr Ziblim Iddi of Gushegu.

Francis Xaiver Sosu of the NDC who is a new entrant won the Madina seat


Going by the figures, it means NPP will lose at least 92 MPs out of their 169 in the next Parliament.
So far, 15 incumbent NDC MPs have lost their seats.

That is aside from the 10 NDC MPs who lost their primaries last year, and seven others who are retiring.

That means 32 current NDC MPs out of the 106 are not returning to Parliament.
Almost 72 incumbent NPP legislators are also not returning to Parliament.

In total at least 110 out of the 275 current MPs are not returning to the House from January 7, 2021.

Wife of the late MP for Mfantseman, Ophelia Mensah Hayford retained the Mfantseman seat 

List of NPP MPs who lost the elections on December 7, 2020, their constituencies and their positions in government

1) George Oduro – New Edubiase – Deputy Agric Minister
2) George Andah – Awutu Senya – Deputy Communications Minister
3) Yaw Buabeng Asamoah – Adentan

Yaw Buabeng Asamoah of Adentan was unseated by Adamu Ramadan

4) Boniface Abubakar Saddique – Minister of State
5) Siaka Stephens – Jaman North – Deputy Bono Regional Minister
6) Yaw Afful – Jaman South – Deputy Aviation Minister
7) Ali Maiga Hamidu – Dormaa West
8) George Gyan Baffuor – Wenchi – Minister for Planning
9) Derrick Oduro – Nkoranza North – Deputy Defence Minister
10) Charles Konadu Yiadom – Nkoranza South
11) Abena Durowaa Mensah – Assin North

Barbara Oteng Gyasi, MP of Prestea Huni Valley lost her seat

12) Barbara Asher Ayisi – Cape Coast North – Deputy Minister for Works and Housing
13) Francis Kingsley Cudjoe – Ekumfi – Deputy Fisheries Minister
14) Alexander Abban – Gomoah West – Deputy Minister for Communications
15) Joseph Tetteh – Upper Manya Krobo – Deputy Eastern Regional Minister
16) Ebenezer Nartey – Ablekuma Central
17) Titus Glover – Tema East – Deputy Minister for Transport
18) Joseph Dindiok Kpemka – Tempane – Deputy Attorney General
19) Adongo Frank Fuseini – Zebilla – Deputy Upper East Regional ministers
20) Anthony Karbo – Lawra – Deputy Roads Minister

Bernard Okoe Boye, MP of Ledzokuku was unseated by Benjamin Ayiku Narteh of the NDC

21) Michael Gyato – Krachi East – Deputy Minister for Water Resources and Sanitation
22) Paul Essien – Jomoro – Deputy Minister for Chieftaincy
23) Barbara Oteng Gyasi – Prestea Huni Valley – Minister for Tourism
24) Kofi Amoakohene – Atebubu Amanten – Bono East Regional Minister
25) Gabriel Osei – Tain
26) Oko Boye – Ledzokuku – Deputy Minister for Health
27) Elizabeth Afoley Quaye – Krowor – Minister for Fisheries and Aquaculture
28) Hajia Alima Mahama – Nalerigu /Gambaga – Minister for Local Government and Rural Development


George Andah –lost the Awutu Senya seat

29) Also, Upper East Regional Minister Paulina Abayange who is not an MP lost the election in the Navorongo Constituency.

NDC MPs who lost their seats and their constituencies

1) Adams Mutawakilu – Damongo
2) Edward Kaale Ewola Dery – Lambuisie
3) Abdul Rauf Tanko – Yagaba Kubori
4) Sualihu Dandaawa Alhassan – Karaga
5) Mohammed Abdul Aziz – Mion

Adams Mutawakilu lost the Damongo seat

6) Simon Acheampong Tampi – Tatale Sanguli
7) Alhassan Umar – Zabzugu
8) Mahama Shaibu – Daboya Mankarigu
9) Mumuni Alhassan – Salaga North
10) Dr Robert Baba Kuganab-Lem – Binduri
11) Samuel Abdulai Jananyite – Chereponi
12) Joseph Naabu – Yunyoo


 Felicia Adjei, MP of Kintampo South lost her seat

13) Felicia Adjei – Kintampo South
14) Mohammed Massawud – Pru West
15) Derek Darko Ohene Asifo Bekoe – Upper West Akim