fbpx

New WhatsApp feature allows users to decide which groups they want to join

BY: Kweku Zurek
New WhatsApp feature allows users to decide which groups they want to join
New WhatsApp feature allows users to decide which groups they want to join

Users of the social media platform WhatsApp can now decide which groups they want to join.

The new features announced yesterday by the Facebook-owned messaging platform include more controls over who can add them to groups.

Until the latest development, group administrators could add anyone to a group without their prior aprroval, leaving persons in an uncomfortable position with regards to leaving a group.

To enable it, go to Settings in your app, then tap Account > Privacy > Groups and select one of three options: "Nobody", "My Contacts", or "Everyone". "Nobody" means you'll have to approve joining every group to which you're invited, and "My Contacts" means only users you have in your address book can add you to groups.

In those cases, the person adding you to a group will be prompted to send a private invite through an individual chat, giving you the choice of joining the group. You'll have three days to accept the invite before it expires.

Ghana News Headlines

For latest news in Ghana, visit Graphic Online news headlines page Ghana news page

With these new features, users will have more control over the group messages they receive. These new privacy settings will begin rolling out to some users starting today and will be available worldwide in the coming weeks to those using the latest version of WhatsApp.

Follow these steps to enable the group feature;

REGISTER: Graphic Business Stanbic Bank Breakfast Meeting

  • To enable you'll first need to go to Settings in the WhatsApp app
  • Tap on Account
  • Click on Privacy
  • Select Groups option
  • You'll see three options there: "Nobody," "My Contacts," or "Everyone"

Note: "Nobody" means you'll have to approve joining every group to which you're invited, and "My Contacts" means only users you have in your address book can add you to groups.

  • To let people take your permission before adding you to a group, you must select "Nobody" option.