Top stars ‘swerved’ at GN Bank Awards

BY: Gifty Owusu-Amoah

If anyone had anticipated that the popular names and faces of the entertainment industry would reign at the first GN Bank Awards held at the Accra International Conference Centre last Saturday, then the person was in for a shock.

The first surprise on the night came when one Nana Yaa Amoakoaa of Kids Icon beat a stiff competition from the likes of Enock Djamba, Godslove Ntsiwah and Tutulapto, all of Talented Kids, to clinch the Child Star award.

But that was only the beginning of the many surprises that happened at the GN Bank Awards which kicked off at 9: 00 pm. The audience would have another unexpected winner when Nana Yaa Brefo of Adom TV won the Female TV Presenter of the Year.

She beat strong contenders such as Gifty Anti, Nana Aba Anamoah, Afia Schwarzenneger and Deloris Frimpong Manso who were nominated in the same category. 

Also, one Baba Spirit of Rainbow FM emerged the winner for the Best Comedian award. He wrestled the title from  DKB, Kalybos, Bismark the Joke, Bob Okala, David Oscar, Funny Face and Foster.

That is not all, dancehall artiste, Vybrant Faya’s Mampi won the Song of the Year award. His song beat Sarkodie featuring Castro’s Adonai, Dancehall Commando by Shatta Wale, Seiho by Castro, Ye Nea Woho Beto Wo (Yentie Obiaa) by Daddy Lumba, Bisa Kdei’s Give It To Baba, Iskoki by Samini, Tonga from Joey B and  VVIP’s Selfie.  

 The rest of personalities and corporate bodies who had contributed to the growth of the entertainment industry who received awards included the most prominent award, the Favourite Celebrity Award which went to Starr FM’s Bola Ray. 

A visibly humbled Bola Ray who had earlier received the Male Radio Presenter Of The Year thanked the organisers, Spyder Lee Entertainment, for the thought to acknowledge the efforts of those who contribute to the growth of the entertainment industry.

He dedicated the award to his colleagues at Starr FM and made a special dedication to his wife for being “a strong force behind his success”.

Legendary boxer, D.K Poison, was also honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award for his role in the development of boxing in the country. Telecommunications company, MTN, was honoured with a Corporate Honorary Award for their immense contribution and support to showbiz in Ghana.

In all, 15 awards were given out on the night and winners walked away with a plaque and GHC5000  each.

The night’s tone was lit up with performances from gospel artistes, Obaapa Christy and Joyce Blessing. There were also good performances from Wiyaala, Raquel and songtress, Efya. 

Efya sure knows how to  work it on stage and she was obviously in her element last Saturday when she performed two of her popular songs, Gingam Style and One of Your Own, much to the admiration of the patrons.

But it was celebrated highlife singer, Amakye Dede, who stole the show. If anyone thought the serious man had lost his steam, then he proved such a person wrong. The Iron Boy singer took the audience down memory lane with old classics such as Sokoo Na Mmaa Pe, Nsuo Amuna and Odo Mfoni.

The loud applause that greeted his exit from the stage was evidence that the audience enjoyed his act and Amakye Dede no doubt proved why he is still much relevant after many years.

Joy FM’s DJ Black and BBC’s Tim Westwood were behind the console to churn out fine tunes to liven up the ‘dull’ moments on stage. 

A live band performance by Shatta Wale, which didn’t go very well brought the show which was emceed by Chris Attoh to a close.

But for a few technical hitches at the start of the show, the organisation wasn’t bad. However, the absence of many awardees took away some shine.

Other winners on the night were:

Male Musician Of The Year: Shatta Wale

Female Musician Of The Year: Gifty Osei

Male Actor Of The Year: James Gardner

Female Actor Of The Year: Juliet Ibrahim

Movie Of The Year: Obroni Hiani (Sky Orange Productions)

Male Sports Personality Of The Year: Asamoah Gyan (Black Stars captain)

Entertainment Journalist/Writer Of The Year: Halifax Ansah Addo (News One)

Female Radio Presenter Of The Year: Akumaa Mama Zimbi (Odo Ahomaso – Adom FM)

 Male TV Presenter Of The Year: Kojo Frempong (Boys Boys – Viasat 1)