Style icons awarded at Glitz Style Awards

BY: Jasmine Arku
Afua Rida (left) was awarded the Fashion Blogger for the Year.

Former First Lady of Ghana, Nana Konadu Agyeman Rawlings was on Sunday morning announced as the 2015 Glitz Style Icon of the Year at the maiden edition of the Glitz Style Awards held at the Movenpick Ambassador Hotel in Accra.

The glitzy event, which was well attended, had many leading figures and icons in the fashion, creative arts and entertainment industry from Ghana and Nigeria making an appearance.

According to Glitz Africa, publishers of the Glitz Africa Magazine, the strategic focus of the awards was to strengthen the growing Ghana fashion industry through development, promotion and setting international industry standards.

According to the organisers, the event was an opportunity for the fashion industry to celebrate and promote the extraordinary creative talents in Ghana and Africa as a whole.

Ghana News Headlines

For latest news in Ghana, visit Graphic Online news headlines page Ghana news page

Unlike similar events, the Glitz Style Awards was generally free of technical and logistical hitches with a high degree of efficiency while singers Irene Logan, Nana Yaa and Abena of MTN Hitmaker fame serenaded guests throughout the night.

Some award winners on the night were Joselyn Dumas won Most Stylish Personality of the Year Award beating Sika Osei and Kojo Frempong. Live FM’s Kofi Okyere Darko(KOD) won the Most Stylish Radio Personality of the Year, ahead of Lexis Bill and Jon Germain.

Yvonne Neslon was awarded the Most Stylish Movie Star Award while the Most Stylish Music Star Award went to Becca. Prince Ibrahim received the Model of the Year Award, Selina Bebaako-Mensah of Selina Beb took home the Accessory Designer of the Year Award and the Best Dressed Celebrity on the Red Carpet Award went to Sandra Ankobiah.

Other award winners were Oheneba Yaw Boahman of Abrantie Clothing winning the Designer of the Year Award, Fashion Photographer of the Year went to Emmanuel Bobbie, Most Stylish Personality of the Year Award went to Stephen Appiah,  Nana Asante Bediatuo won the Most Stylish Business Executive Award and the Best Individual Style Award went to Wiyaala.