People’s Celebrity Awards nominees list out

BY: Ariel Awen
Bola Ray won the Favourite Celebrity of the Year Award in 2015.
Bola Ray won the Favourite Celebrity of the Year Award in 2015.

Nominees for this year’s People’s Celebrity Awards were unveiled by the board and organisers at the Coconut Grove Regency Hotel in Accra on Tuesday.

The event which was first held in 2015 and used to be known as the GN Bank Awards is organised by SpyderLee Entertainment and sponsored by GN Bank Mobile Money.

Popular names like Kojo Nkansah (Lil Win), Majid Michel, Akumaa Mama Zimbi, Berla Mundi, Shatta Wale, Bola Ray among others have been nominated in the various categories.

In all, there are 17 awards to be presented. They are People’s Celebrity Actor, People’s Celebrity Actress, People’s Celebrity Female Musician, People’s Celebrity Male Musician, People’s Celebrity Female Radio Presenter, People’s Celebrity Female Sports Personality and People’s Celebrity Television Presenter.

The others are People’s Celebrity Journalist, People’s Celebrity Male Radio Presenter, People’s Celebrity Male Sports Personality, People’s Celebrity Male Presenter, People’s Celebrity Movie, People’s Celebrity Music Video, People’s Celebrity Social Media Personality and People’s Celebrity Song.

Speaking at the unveiling ceremony, Eyram Bashan, a member of the Board of Directors said the scheme celebrates and recognises Ghanaian personalities whose works have contributed to the growth of the arts and creative industry.

“The awards scheme has achieved its purpose of creating an excellent avenue for investment in the creative arts industry and we are happy about the support it has enjoyed since its inception,” she stated.

The public has 100 percent voting rights and Ms Bashan encouraged people to vote for their favourite celebrities to emerge winners at the final event slated for Saturday, December 30 at the Accra International Conference Centre.

Some of the winners at the maiden edition were Asamoah Gyan, Juliet Ibrahim and Shatta Wale. Bola Ray won the Favourite Celebrity of the Year Award.

Comedian and host of The KSM Show, Kwaku Sintim-Misa and veteran broadcaster, Tommy Annan Forson graced the occasion.