Nineteen shortlisted for Ghana Association of Writers awards

BY: Graphic Online
Nana Kwasi Gyan Apenteng
Nana Kwasi Gyan Apenteng

The Ghana Association of Writers (GAW) has shortlisted seventeen writers to win awards in the 2018 GAW Literary Awards at a ceremony to be held at PAWA House, Roman Ridge on Friday.

Cash prizes and certificates would be awarded for each category namely: The Ayi Kwei Armah Prize for Novel; Ama Ata Aidoo Prize for Short Story; Atukwei Okai Prize for Poetry; Afua T. Sutherland Prize for Children's Story Book and Bill Marshall Prize for Young Writer (not more than 25 years).

The rest are: Kofi Awoonor Prize for Creative Non-Fiction (Biography, motivational, religious, etc.) Efo Kodjo Mawugbe, Prize for Drama; Kwaw Ansah Prize for Script Writing; and Kwesi Brew Prize for Children's Poetry and Kofi Anyidoho Prize for Spoken Word.

Winners for first, second and third prizes would be announced from the shortlisted writers whose works were adjudged the best in the 2017/2018 period at the event.

They include in no particular order, M. Abdul Majeed, Prince Adu Mensah, Dela Duvi, Franka Maria Andoh, Ohene Dankwah, Ace Anan Ankoma, Kofi Otutu Adu Labi and Genevieve Delali Antonio.

Ghana News Headlines

For latest news in Ghana, visit Graphic Online news headlines page Ghana news page

The rest are Pobee Mwintombo, CEP Sefogah, M.K. Agbodza, Sam J. Obianim , J.M.T. Dosoo, Nana Dadzie Ghansah, Mawuli Adzei, Nana Dadzie Ghansah, Ama Pomaa, N. Maria Kwami and Empi Baryeh.

In August 1987, GAW, instituted and established with the support of patrons of the arts, its first ever awards programme to recognise and honour creativity among other things in Accra and 13 writers were awarded prizes and citations.

Now held annually, the awards were instituted to honour deserving Ghanaian writers all over the world who submit their works for the prizes at stake.

There are other awards which go to Ghanaians who have contributed to GAW and the literary world.