Graphic Showbiz Logo

Bessa Simons is new MUSIGA President

Bessa Simons is new MUSIGA President

Veteran Highlife musician, Bessa Simons is MUSIGA president.  In a highly anticipated election held today under the auspices of the Electoral Commission of Ghana, the veteran Highlife musician beat his only rival Ras Caleb, to become the newly elected President of the Musicians Union of Ghana (MUSIGA).


Bessa, who had been the Acting MUSIGA president since Bice Osei Kuffour resigned polled a total of 324 votes, with Ras Caleb securing 66 votes.

The election, which took place in all the regions, had a good turnout of MUSIGA members who came in to exercise their rights to vote.

Members of MUSIGA Greater Accra Region cast their votes at the Accra Tourist Information Centre.

Today’s election is expected to bring to rest all the prolonged disagreements among members of the union after the elections was postponed four times.

In an earlier interview with Graphic Showbiz, Bessa Simons pledged to work tirelessly to advance the interests of musicians across the country.

His win and tenure is expected to usher in a period of innovation and growth for the organisation and the Ghanaian music industry at large.

He highlighted the importance of unity and collaboration within MUSIGA, emphasising that “together, we can achieve great strides in the music industry.”

Below is the results from various regions across the country.

Greater Accra:

Bessa Simons: 83 votes

Ras Caleb: 24 votes


Bessa Simons: 53 votes

Ras Caleb: 8 votes

Upper West:

Bessa Simons: 9 votes

Ras Caleb: 2 votes

Northern Region:

Bessa Simons: 19 votes

Ras Caleb: 4 votes

Eastern Region:

Bessa Simons: 25 votes

Ras Caleb: 2 votes

Volta Region:

Bessa Simons: 22 votes

Ras Caleb: 7 votes

Central Region:

Bessa Simons: 44 votes

Ras Caleb: 10 votes

Upper East:

Bessa Simons: 16 votes

Ras Caleb: 2 votes

Western Region:

Bessa Simons: 18 votes

Ras Caleb: 4 votes

Brong Ahafo Region:

Bessa Simons: 35 votes

Ras Caleb: 3 votes

See how his supporters celebrated his victory


Here's a list of other elected executives

Rev Dr Yawson 1st Vice Prez

Abena Ruthy - 2nd Vice Prez

S. K. Agyemang -Gen Sec

Rev Eyison - Nat Treasurer

Rev Gifty Ghansah - Nat. Welfare Officer

Chizzy Wailer - Nat Organizer


Connect With Us : 0242202447 | 0551484843 | 0266361755 | 059 199 7513 |

Like what you see?

Hit the buttons below to follow us, you won't regret it...