Otoo, Yahaya, Akuffo vie for SWAG top award

BY: Enoch Darfah Frimpong

The Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) has nominated Mahatma Otoo of Accra Hearts of Oak, Yahaya Mohammed of Amidaus Professionals and Michael Akuffo of Kumasi Asante Kotoko, to vie for the 2012 SWAG Premiership Player of the Year Award.        

A SWAG statement said Otoo, Mohammed and Akuffo, would contest for the honour reserved for locally-based players after they distinguished themselves in the 2012/13 Glo Premier League.                    

Otoo is the current top scorer in the Glo Premier League with 17 goals, while Mohammed is credited with 11 goals and was instrumental in the impressive performance of the Tema-based side. 

Akuffo has also played  a key role in the performance of Kotoko in the Glo Premier League and the MTN FA Cup.           

SWAG Awards will come off on June 29, at the Banquet Hall of the State House in Accra to confer honours on distinguished sportsmen and women.