Andre Ayew Shortlisted For CAF Player Of The Year Award

BY: Enoch Darfah Frimpong

Black Stars' Andre Ayew has been short listed among ten players to compete for this year's Confederation of African Football (CAF) Player of the Year award scheduled for Accra next month.



Ayew emerged the only Ghanaian in the shortlist expected to be pruned to three before the 2012 edition of the plum event that celebrate the continents best performer for the year under review.

Ghana News Headlines

For latest news in Ghana, visit Graphic Online news headlines page Ghana news page

Other Black Stars players, Emmanuel Agyeman Badu and Kwadwo Asamoah who made the initial 34 could not advance according a communiqué from CAF.

The CAF technical and the media committees select players for the annual event formerly won by the ‘maestro’, Abedi Pele.

This is the second time Ayew has come this far having placed third behind Seydou Keita and Yaya Toure at the last edition also held in Accra last year.

The 10 nominees include Didier Drogba (Cote d’Ivoire), Alexander Song (Cameroon), Demba Ba (Senegal), Gervais Lombe Yao Kouassi (Cote d’Ivoire), John Obi Mikel (Nigeria), Younes Belhanda (Morocco), Christopher Katongo (Zambia) and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon).

The list, according to CAF will be passed on to head coaches and technical directors of the affiliated National Associations to cast their votes for the first three.

The top three would be announce in the last week of November before the final announcement of the winner at the event billed for December 20 in Accra.

In other categories, trio, Emmanuel Clottey, Harrison Afful, Solomon Asante  all missed out on the shortlist for the Player of the Year (based in Africa) award.

Other awards to be contested for on the night are National Team of the Year, Women’s Footballer of the Year,  Women’s National Team of the Year, Club of the Year,  Most Promising Talent of the Year, Coach of the Year, Referee of the Year,  Legend Award, Fair Play Award, Platinum Award and Africa Finest XI.