fbpx \r\n\t\t\t\t\r\n\t\t\t
", "image": { "@type": "ImageObject", "url": "https://www.graphic.com.gh/" }, "author": { "@type": "Person", "name": "Sebastian Syme", "url": "https://www.graphic.com.gh/news/politics/ndc-wins-agona-west-east-parliamentary-seats.html" }, "publisher": { "@type": "Organization", "name": "Graphic Online", "logo": { "@type": "ImageObject", "url": "https://www.graphic.com.gh/images/2018/feb/onlinelogo.png" } }, "datePublished": "2012-12-12T12:43:20+00:00", "dateCreated": "2012-12-12T12:43:20+00:00", "dateModified": "2016-05-22T21:36:49+00:00" }

NDC wins Agona West & East parliamentary seats

BY: Sebastian Syme

The Agona West and East parliamentary seats fell to the ruling National Democratic Congress (NDC) in the December general election.

In the Agona West Constituency, the incumbent NPP Member of Parliament, Mr Samuel Obodai, was defeated by a first timer, Mr Charles Obeng-Inkoom. Mr Obodai who had held onto the seat since 2001, polled 25,397 while Mr Obeng-Inkoom won by 30,166 votes.

Mr Alfred Kwame Amponsah of the National Democratic Party secured 93 votes; Stephen Ato Wilson of the Progressive People’s Party had 704 and George Ampiah Biney of the Convention People’s Party had 342 votes.

In 2008, Mr Obodai won with 18,951 votes. Ibrahim Zubairu who represented the National Democratic Congress secured 12,613 and Samuel Oppong, a member of the NDC, contested as an Independent candidate and polled 12,526 votes.

The seat was won by the incumbent MP in 2008 due to the fact that two NDC members contested the seat, paving the way for the incumbent MP to maintain the seat.

Per the results in 2008, if Samuel Oppong, the current Agona West Municipal Chief Executive, and also a member of the NDC, had not contested the seat as an Independent candidate, NDC would have won the seat, per the election results.

In the run-off election between Late President John Atta Mills and Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo in 2008, President Mills polled 22,103 votes’ while Nana Addo secured 23,156 votes.

However, in the 2012 general election, NDC polled 27,371, GCPP polled 219, Nana Akufo-Addo had 28,012, PPP had 365, UFP 34, PNC 68, CPP 107 and Independent candidate had 42.

In the Agona East Constituency also, Maame Pokua Sawyeer, affectionately called Obaatanpa, defeated the Incumbent NPP Member of Parliament, John Kwesi Agyabeng, who managed only 18,049 votes. Maame Pokua happens to be the first female MP in the Agona area after post independence Ghana.

She won by polling 22,689 votes. Esther Aboagye of the PPP had 246. Magnus Idan of the NDP polled 56 votes and Musa Bashiru, an Independent candidate, had only 93 votes.

In the 2008 parliamentary elections, the incumbent MP, John Agyabeng, polled 15,125 votes. Theophilus Maranga of the NDC managed 15,091, and Magnus Idan who represented the DFP at that time had 266 votes.

In addition, in the 2012 presidential elections, NDC had 21,228, GCPP 281, NPP 18,879, PPP 232, UFP 23, PNC 38, CPP 40 and the independent presidential candidate polled 45 votes.

However, in the 2008 run-off elections, candidate John Evans Atta Mills won the constituency with 15,858 as against Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo’s 14,720 votes.

Story: Gilbert Mawuli Agbey