Voters Register will be used for by-election — EC

Mr Samuel Tettey — Deputy Chairperson, EC
Mr Samuel Tettey — Deputy Chairperson, EC

The Electoral Commission (EC) on Thursday said it would use the 2016 Voter Register to conduct the Ayawaso West Wuogon Constituency by-election, slated for January 31, 2019.

The Deputy Chairperson of the EC, Mr Samuel Tettey, briefing the media on the Commission’s preparation towards the upcoming by-election, discounted the allegations that the EC had compiled a new register for the election.

“We have constantly involved all political parties at the Inter-Party Advisory Committee in every process. We are, therefore, surprised that any party will allege that a different register will be used,” he said.

Ghana News Headlines

For latest news in Ghana, visit Graphic Online news headlines page Ghana news page

“The rules have not changed.

Whoever gets the most number of votes, wins the election”.

Level playing field

Mr Tettey assured all political parties that the EC would ensure a level playing field for all candidates.

“We have a robust system so no one can rig the election in favour of any other party. The rules of the elections are the same. You need to establish your identity as to who you are on the electoral roll, one man-one vote, and observe secret ballot,” he said.

He said all the electoral materials, including validation stamps, ballot boxes, register, thump print pads were ready and officials had received the required training to conduct the election.

In all, three persons: Madam Lydia Seyram Alhassan of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), Mr Delali Kwasi Brempong, representing the National Democratic Congress (NDC), and Mr William Dowokpor of the Progressive People’s Party (PPP) are contesting the election. GNA