Afadzinu retained as GTTA prez

Author: Kwame Larweh
Mr Mawuko Afadzinu (left) retained President with other executives of the Association

Three officials of the Ghana Table Tennis Association (GTTA), Mawuko Afadzinu, Kenneth Ashigbey and William Asare, had a change of heart and accepted to head the association again minutes after the trio pulled out of the association's elective congress at the Accra Stadium last Saturday.

It took pleas from delegates and other members of the ping-pong fraternity for the trio to rescind their decision not to contest as president, vice president and treasurer respectively.

Their insistence to resign from the GTTA followed unsubstantiated allegations against them by some members of the table tennis fraternity over  financial benefits they made from the association.

However, after they were prevailed upon to back down on their earlier position to resign, other members of the executive were duly elected.
Mr Afadzinu retained his position unopposed as president, Mr Ashigbey as vice-president unopposed while Mr Asare was elected as the treasurer.

Mr Charles Tachie-Menson, a ping-pong enthusiast, was elected as an executive member after his competitors withdrew from the race at the eleventh hour.

The position of women’s coordinator was won by Efua Oforiwa Owusu Agyei who beat Dora Sarpong by 10 votes to seven (7) while Asare beat Samuel Agyepong by 12 votes to six (6) to be elected as treasurer. Clarence Amoatey defeated Edward Acheampong for the sponsorship and communication directorate position.

The newly elected executive members were sworn into office by the General Secretary of GTTA, Patrick Johnson, for a four-year term.
Mr Afadzinu later congratulated the newly sworn-in executive and charge them to work hard to make table tennis a national pastime.