120 athletes for Legon Athletics Championship

Author: Beatrice Laryea
Benjamin Kwaku Azamati will be in action during the 100m event

A total of 120 student athletes from the various halls of the University of Ghana, Legon will battle it out for medals and some mouthwatering prizes at the 56th edition of the Inter-Halls Athletic Championship which will come off from Wednesday, October 16 to Friday, October 18, 2019.

The three-day competition, which is sponsored by Total Petroleum Ghana Limited, will be staged at the University of Ghana Sports Stadium near Okpoglo.

Some of the events to be competed in are 100m, 200m, 4×100m relay, 800m, 1,500m, 5000m, high jump, long jump, discuss, triple jump, and javelin in the men and women categories.

The championship is organised by the Sports Directorate of the university in collaboration with the Ghana Athletics Association, who will be providing the technical support for the success of the competition.

Ahead of the championship, head of the Organising Committee at the Sports Directorate, Mr Abdul Rahman Iddrisu in an interview last Friday noted that his outfit was working towards putting together one of the successful events ever in the history of the championship.

“This year, we are fortunate to have Total Ghana Limited as our sponsors so we are looking forward to staging one of the well-organised competitions,” Mr Iddrisu said.

“We are also fortunate to have some of the national athletes as students of this university who have registered to participate so we are expecting the various events to be keenly contested,” he added.

On the prizes at stake he said: “Winners in the various events will receive medals but the hall which will emerge as the overall champion will receive a giant trophy and souvenirs.”

Some of the athletes expected to cause a stir at the championship are Mensah Sarbah Hall top athletes Benjamin Kwaku Azamati and Grace Obuor who won gold and bronze respectively for Ghana at the 2019 Africa Games held in Rabat, Morocco recently.

Others are Michael Baiden (Commonwealth Hall), Rajah Lagbel (Commonwealth), Etiam Togbenu (Akuafo), Cynthia Anafo (Akuafo), Comfort Tetteh (Volta Hall) and Beatrice Owusu (Sarbah Hall).

The defending champions are Commonwealth Hall for the men’s category and Akuafo Hall for the women’s category.