GFA Elections: Know presidential candidates' positions on ballot sheet

Author: Bernard Neequaye

The Normalisation Committee (NC) of the Ghana Football Association (GFA) has released the positions of the six candidates on the ballot sheet for the October 25  GFA presidential elections.

After balloting on Friday, the NC, which doubles as the Elections Committee for the upcoming elections, released the positions with the Executive Director of Dreams FC, Kurt Okraku, in the first position followed by George Afriyie, Frederick Pappoe, Amanda Clinton, Nana Yaw Amponsah and George Ankamah in that order.

In a tweet, the NC confirmed how the candidates will appear on the ballot papers on the Election Day during which delegates will be expected to pick their favourite candidate.

“After today’s balloting for the GFA Presidential Candidates, this is how the candidates will appear on the ballot paper on 25 October 2019.

“Kurt E.S Okraku, George Kwasi Afriyie, Fred Pappoe, Amanda Akuokor Clinton, Nana Yaw Amponsah, George Ankomah Mensah in that position,” the statement read.

The five candidates passed integrity test to compete for the vacant GFA Presidential position with Tema Youth president, Wilfred Osei Kwaku, known in football circles as Palmer, being disqualified by the Vetting Committee.

It was a double blow for Palmer when his appeal against the disqualification was thrown own on Wednesday because the NC claimed the petition was filed beyond the Tuesday deadline.