England pick ticket for 2019 Women's World Cup

Author: Rosalind K. Amoh
The Three Lionesses of England have qualified for the 2019 Women's World Cup in France
The Three Lionesses of England have qualified for the 2019 Women's World Cup in France

England are the latest side to book their place at the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup after a 3-0 victory against Wales in Newport.

This brings to 14, the number of teams that have qualified for the June 7 to July 7, competition to be staged in Lyon, France.

Goals from Toni Duggan, Jill Scott and Nikita Parris, England’s top scorer of the campaign so far, ensured victory and picked one of Europe's seven slots for the tournament.

The result ensured Phil Neville’s side bagged top spot in Group 1 in European qualifying with one game remaining, while also inflicting a first defeat of the campaign on a valiant Wales team.

The 2019 Women's World Cup will be staged in France from June 7 to July 7

France 2019 will be England’s fifth Women's World Cup appearance. The Lionesses recorded their best ever finish at the tournament during Canada 2015 when they claimed bronze in the match for third place.

While the Asia, South America and Europe have completed their qualifiers, Africa and North America are yet to complete their process but have up to December 2018 to decide.

There will also be a play-off between the best losing sides from North America and South America to decide who picks the 24th slot.

Africa's representatives will be known by December 1 when the final of the 2018 Women's Africa Cup of Nations slated for Ghana is held. The first three teams in the competition, will represent the continent.

Africa had its slot increased from two since 1999, to three in 2016.

The slots for the continents were increased in October 2016 when the FIFA Council approved the increment of the teams from a 16-team tournament to a 24-team event.

The slots alloted are as follows:

AFC (Asia): 5 slots
CAF (Africa): 3 slots
CONCACAF (North, Central America and Caribbean): 3 slots
CONMEBOL (South America): 2 slots
OFC (Oceania): 1 slot
 UEFA (Europe): 8 slots
Host Nation: 1 slot
CONCACAF–CONMEBOL play-off: 1 slot

Qualifying matches started in April 2017, and are expected to take place until December 2018.