Gyan named in 29-man provisional AFCON squad

Author: Bernard Neequaye
Asamoah Gyan

Black Stars skipper, Asamoah Gyan, has been named in Kwasi Appiah’s 29-man provisional squad for the upcoming Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) in Egypt.

Coach Appiah added the experienced forward to his squad after he rescinded an earlier decision to retire from the Black Stars because of a row over captaincy, following the intervention of President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo who convinced Ghana's most capped player to return to the team for the AFCON campaign.

The 33-year-old Gyan, Ghana's all-time leading top scorer 51 goals, was named alongside experienced players such as John Boye, Jonathan Mensah, Christian Atsu, Andre Ayew and Kwadwo Asamoah, who returns to the national team for the first time since the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil.

The team consisted of five debutants namely, Abdul Fatawu Safiu, Mohammed Alhassan, Kwabena Owusu, Samuel Owusu and Musah Nuhu.

The 29 consist of three goalkeepers, 10 defenders, 11 midfielders and five strikers.

Ghana squad:

Goalkeepers: Richard Ofori (Maritzburg United, South Africa, Lawrence Ati- Zigi  (Sochaux, Montbeliard, France), and Felix Annan  (Asante Kotoko, Ghana).

Defenders: John Boye (Metz, France), Andy Yiadom (Reading, England), Abdul Baba Rahman (Reims, France), Lumor Agbenyenu (Goztepe, Turkey),  Kassim Nuhu (Hoffeinham, Germany), Jonathan Mensah (Columbus Crew, USA), Joseph Aidoo (Genk, Belguim), Nuhu Musa (St Gallen, Switzerland), Joseph Attamah (Basaksehir, Turkey) and Mohammed Alhassan (Hearts of Oak, Ghana).

Midfielders: Mubarak Wakaso (Deportivo Alaves, Spain), Thomas Partey (Atletico Madrid, Spain), Kwadwo Asamoah (Internazionle, Italy), Ebenezer Ofori (New York FC, USA), Afriyie Acquah (Empoli, Italy), Andre Ayew (Fenerbahce, Turkey), Christian Atsu (Newcastle United, England), Samuel Owusu (Cukaricki, Serbia), Thomas Agyepong (Hibernian, Scotland), Yaw Yeboah (Numancia, Spain), Abdul Fatawu (Asante Kotoko, Ghana).

Strikers: Asamoah Gyan (Kayserispor, Turkey), Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace, England),  Abdul Majeed Waris ( Nantes, France), Caleb Ekuban  (Trabzonspor, Turkey and Kwabena  Owusu (Leganes, Spain).