AFCON 2019: Namibia release final squad

Author: George Ernest Asare
Coach of Namibia Ricardo Mannetti (right) names his final squad.

Coach Ricardo Mannetti of Namibia has submitted his final 23-man squad  for the 2019 AFCON tournament scheduled for Egypt.

Missing from the squad are five key players -Benjamen Nenkavu, Virgil Vries, Chris Katjiukua, Teberius Lombard, and Wesley Katjiteo- from the provisional squad preparing in Dubai.

Explaining why the players were axed from the final squad during a media interaction Coach Mannetti  said they did not meet his expectations in terms of  tactical discipline, conditioning, performance  on and off the field and positive attitude .

''Those are the pillars of our decision. Also the inclusion of Ryan Nyambe at the back, his versatility is key for the changes at the back,'' He explained further .

Adding, he said, ''We feel this team has the right energy because they fit the right tactics to be used for the tournament and they will represent Namibia to the best of their abilities. These are the right players with the right work ethic and harmony.''

The Brave Warriors who are in Group D  defeated the Black Stars of Ghana 1-0 in a friendly match played at the Jeber Ali Centre of Excellence in Dubai on Sunday June 9

They will  play their first match against  Morocco on June 23, before meeting neighbours South Africa on June 28.

Both matches would be played at Al Salam Stadium, but their final match against Cote d' Ivoire would be played at the Cairo International Stadium on July 1, 2019.

Namibia's final squad:

Ratanda Mbazuvara, Loydt Kazapua, Max Mbaeva, Ryan Nyambe, Larry Horaeb, Denzil Haoseb, Ivan Kamberipa, Charles Hambira, Riaan Hanamub, Ananias Gebhardt, Absalom Iimbondi, Willy Stephanus, Petrus Shitembi, Ronald Ketjijere, Dynamo Fredericks, Marcel Papama, Manfred Starke, Deon Hotto, Itamunua Keimuine, Benson Shilongo, Peter Shalulile, Joslyn Kamatuka and Isaskar Gurirab.