Adingra, latest to exit Kotoko’s revolving door

Author: Bernard Neequaye
Moussa Adingra (right) left the country after his contract was terminated by Kotoko
Moussa Adingra (right) left the country after his contract was terminated by Kotoko

Ivorian star, Moussa Adingra, flew out of Accra for abidjan yesterday after a dream move to Kumasi Asante Kotoko fizzled out in record time.

He arrived in Ghana amid excitement by the Kotoko faithful as the team’s management made public a number of new signings for their domestic and continental campaigns, but Adingra’s romance with Kotoko lasted a few days as his three-year contract was terminated.

The former Lobi Stars player is reportedly weighing up his legal options as he is entitled so some compensation after his move to the Porcupine Warriors turned a fiasco.

According to Kotoko management member, Edmund Ackah, the club only signed a pre-contract with the Ivorian but the deal fell through after the player failed his medicals in Kumasi last week. Other reports suggested the player failed to impress Kotoko’s new Norwegian coach, Kjetil Zachariassen, hence the decision to allow him to leave.

Adingra, in effect, was just one of the many players who joined the two times African champions with high hopes but left through the club’s revolving door very disappointed.

His unceremonious exit only mirrors a bigger state of instability in the club in the last three years under the leadership of their executive chairman, Kwame Kyei, with over 50 players signed and many more leaving after just a season or two.

Kotoko’s decision to dispense with the services of coach Charles Akonnor after just eight months and replace him with Norwegian Zachariassen, as well as acquire the services of 10 additional players for their CAF Champions League campaign, reflect Kotoko’s transfer policy and team-building process.

In the last three weeks, Kotoko have announced the signing of Bright Enchill, George Abege, Richard Arthur, Kwame Baah, Ampem Dacosta, Kelvin Andoh, Justice Blay, Godfred Asiamah and Didi Arnold Alexis for their domestic and continental campigns.

Per the Graphic Sports’ count, the current administration has recruited dozens of players, including Emmanuel Agyemang Badu, Osman Ibrahim, Richard Senanu, Alhaji Issahaku, Samuel Frimpong, Samuel Appiah Kubo, Stephen Nyarko, Micheal Abu, Emmanuel Owusu, Sylla Mohammed, Collins Ameyaw, and Sadick Adams.

Others include Ollenu Ashitey, Baba Mahama, Jordan Opoku, Daniel Nii Adjei, Augustine Sefa, Yakubu Mohammed, Abass Mohammed, Awudu Nafiu, Issac Quansah, Prince Acquah, Kwame Boahene, Muntari Tagoe, Dandlad Ibrahim, Osei Kwame, Abdul Fatawu Safiu, Songne Yacouba, and  Ismael Abdul Ganiyu.

The rest are Wahab Adams, Maxwell Baakoh, Umar Bashir, Abass Mohammed, Teguy Zabo, Naby Keita, Evans Owusu, Martin Antwi, Habibu Mohammed, Daniel Darkwah, Seth Opare, Issac Amponsah, Frederick Boatengs, Kwame Bonsu, Stephen Nyarko and Awal Mohammed.

It is instructive to note also that many of these players are no longer on the payroll of Kotoko after spending a season or two at the club under coaches Frimpong Manso, Steven Polack, Paa Kwesi Fabin and Akonnor.