2019 Women's World Cup: USA make history with 4th title

Author: Rosalind K. Amoh
Champions again USA win 4th Women's World Cup title
Champions again USA win 4th Women's World Cup title

USA's female football team have made history as the first side to win a fourth Women's World Cup title after beating The Netherlands 2-0 in the final of the 2019 tournament played at the Lyon Stadium in France on Sunday.

Goals from captain Megan Rapinoe and Rose Lavelle helped the Americans to record a back-to-back world title, having won their third at the 2015 tournament in Canada.

USA have made history as the only side to win the Women's World Cup for a fourth time

Having come into the final unbeaten, Jill Ellis' side were held to a goalless first half for the first time as Sarina Wiegman's charges held on to their resolve to cause an upset in their first final.

However, the experienced Stars and Stripes ladies scored two goals within eight minutes to deny the Oranje Ladies the chance to glory as Rapinoe converted a penalty awarded her side after she was fouled in the box on the 61st minute.

Megan Rapinoe put her side ahead through a 61st minute penalty

Rose Lavelle made it 2-0 for USA on the 69th minute

Eight minutes later, Lavelle made it 2-0 with an excellent strike to seal victory as from then, the Americans closed their defence and kept any trouble from the Dutch at bay, denying  ladies a goal for the first time at the knockout stage forcing them to also concede for the first time.

Disappointing as the final result will be for the Dutch, the European champions can be proud of their performance and achievement, given that this was only their second appearance at the WWC, having made their debut at the 2015 in Canada.

At that tournament, they reached the Round of 16, where they were eliminated by Japan.

The Netherlands win silver on their second appearance at the Women's World Cup

The Stars and Stripes Ladies set many new records at the 2019 Women's World Cup

Winning the trophy for the fourth time was not the only record the Americans made at the France tournament. They went into the history books as the only side to score the highest goal at the WWC, a record set in their 13-0 win against Thailand in their opening Group E game.

They also set a record of being the highest scoring team at a single WWC from their 26 goals seven matches.

Megan Rapinoe claims the Golden Boot and Golden Ball awards as topscorer and Best players

Captain Rapinoe also becomes the oldest goalscorer in a Women's World Cup Final at the age of 34 years and two months.

Her team-mate Carli Lloyd was the previous record holder in the category at 32 years and 354 days.

With six goals, and more assists, the American captain also won the adidas Golden Boot for the Topscorer as well as the Golden Ball award for the Best Player of the tournament.

The previous Women's World Cup titles won by the Americans are:

1991 in China: Beat Norway 2-1

1999 in USA: Beat China 5-4 on penalties after a goalless draw in regulation and extra time

2015 in Canada: Beat Japan 5-2