2019 AFCON qualifiers: Wanyama left out of Kenya to face Ghana

Author: Rosalind K. Amoh
Kenya's Victor Wanyama to miss AFCON qualifier against Ghana
Kenya's Victor Wanyama to miss AFCON qualifier against Ghana

Star player, Victor Wanyama has been left out of Kenya's final squad to face Ghana in a crucial 2019 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifier in Nairobi on Saturday.

The Tottenham midfielder was among the 38 players called up for the qualifier but did not turn up at Kasarani, and his national team coach, Sebastien Migne, has hit out at the player for not showing up.

Though Migne acknowledged that Wanyama was not fit to face the Black Stars, he has questioned the players’ decision not to show up for assessment.

“Wanyama should have travelled to Kenya so that our medical staff could assess his injury. We should be a bit professional in such situations. Even Hugo Lloris is injured, but he reported to the French camp. We should change such attitudes going forward,” Migne told Goal.

The player has been left out of the  final squad for the match and Migne explained: “I will only work with the available players for now and my focus is to beat Ghana on Saturday.”

The Kenyan captain is lacking match fitness and has not played for his club since the English Premier League (EPL) began on August 10. The midfielder sustained a knee injury during Tottenham’s tour of the USA last year and was just coming back before picking another injury in pre-season.

Kenya's Harambee Stars are preparing to host Ghana on Saturday

The Frenchman was also not happy that  out of the 38 players called to camp, only 24  turned up.

“It is a shame that out of the 38 players called up for national team duty only 24 turned up. I have given them until end of Wednesday, September 5, and if they don’t show up, they will not be considered for the match.”

Kenya's final squad:
Goalkeepers: Patrick Matasi, Farouk Shikalo and Ian Otieno.
Defenders: Philemon Otieno, Jockins Atudo, Dennis Odhiambo, Joash Onyango, Benard Ochieng, Abud Omar, David Ochieng, Eric Ouma, Joseph Okumu, Musa Mohammed and David Owino.
Midfielders: Francis Kahata, Abdallah Hassan, Anthony Akumu, Eric Johanna, Ismail Gonzalez and Johanna Omollo.
Forwards:Piston Mutamba, Jesse Were, Michael Olunga and Ovella Ochieng.