2019 AFCON: Benin, Zimbabwe, DR Congo seal places

Author: Rosalind K. Amoh
More teams qualify for 2019 AFCON
More teams qualify for 2019 AFCON

The list of the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) participants near completion yesterday as Benin, Zimbabwe and the Democratic Republic of Congo, all sealed their places in the 24-team tournament to be staged in Egypt.

Benin will be returning to the tournment for the first time since 2010 after securing second spot in Group D in the final qualifying match on Sunday, edging out their neighbours, Togo 2-1 in the final game played Cotonou

Steve Mounie, who plays for English side, Huddersfield, scored the winner for the Squirrels to seal the second spot in the group behind Algeria.

Benin took the lead on the 12th minute through David Djigla's strike, but 35-year-old experienced striker Adebayor, gave the Hawks hope with an equaliser on the 72nd minute.

Steven Mounie's goal helps Benin beat Togo to qualify for the 2019 AFCON

However, any hope of Adebayor and Togo reviving their chances came to an end when Mounie struck on the 83rd minute to give Benin the win.

Also on Sunday, Zimbabwe and DR Congo qualified for the finals, as did Tanzania who beat rivals Uganda 3-0. Zimbabwe also beat DR Congo 2-0 to qualify as winners of Group G and DR Congo will also be at the Egypt tournament as the runners-up from the group.

These complete the list of 24 teams who will play in the expanded tournament which will also be played for the first time in June and July after the Confederation of African Football (CAF) made those reforms to get the continent's calendar to be in sync with Europe and other continental schedules.

AFCON 2019 qualifiers: Standings

Group D
Team             P    W    D    L    GF    GA    GD    PTS
Algeria            6     3    2     1    9      4       5     11
Benin             6     3    1     2    5      6      -1     10
Gambia          6     1    3     2    6      6       0       6
Togo             6     1    2     3    5      8     -4       5

Group G
Team             P    W    D    L    GF    GA    GD    PTS
Zimbabwe       6     3     2    1    9      4       5      11
DR Congo       6     2     3    1    8      6       2      9
Liberia            6     2     1    3    5      9      -4      7
Congo            6     1     2    3    7     10     -3      5