2019 CIIS Hockey Fiesta: Adisadel, Edinaman SHS emerge champions

Author: Samuel Amoesi
Coaches and Old Student of Adisco celebrating the trophy with the players

ADISADEL College (ADISCO) have etched their names in gold in school hockey after winning the Citizens International Inter-Schools (CIIS) Hockey fiesta competition for the fourth successive time running, claiming this year’s event at Theodosia Okoh Hockey Stadium on Saturday.

ADISCO claimed the title in style, beating their Cape Coast rivals, St Augustine's SHS 5-4 on penalties for the second consecutive time in their grand finale clash.

The encounter, considered as a local derby by the two Cape Coast-based second cycle schools attracted many hockey fans into the stadium, causing the two teams to offer their best, settling for 1-1 draw at the end of the game, but when the penalty push-out was effected, Adisadel emerged victorious and once again won the bragging rights as four times winners of the competition.

The ladies division also saw Edinaman Girls emerging as the new champions after beating Yaa Asantewaa Girls 2-1 to win the trophy at stake.

Having emerged winners since the tournament started in 2017,  Adisadel College was full of hope to return home with the trophy firmly tucked in their armpit once again, but St. Augustine’s proved equal to the task as both schools exhibited  tremendous skills and fire power to the admiration of the fans.

St Augustine's, who looked hungrier for goals, especially  in the first quarter, created some goal scoring opportunities, but when the second quarter started, Adisadel found their rhythm and started attacking in droves.

However, it was Augusco's star boy, Godsway Addai, who found the opener in the 27th minute of the second quarter to give a semblance of hope that they would snatch the 2019 trophy from their neighbours.

A resilient ADISCO, however, accepted the challenge and started penetrating the iron clad defence of St Augustine and were finally rewarded with the equaliser seven minutes to the end of the game through Jonathan Andoh, thus sending the game to penalty push-outs.

During the penalty push- out, ADISCO scored all the five while Augusco missed one, thus helping the defending champions to maintain the title for the fourth time.

The myth surrounding the girls’ competition of different schools winning the trophy each year was affirmed last Saturday when  Edinaman SHS, another Central Regional side won the competition by defeating Kumasi-based Yaa Asantewaa Girls  2-1 in the grand finale.

Edinaman SHS, who were making their second appearance since the inception of thecompetition, exhibited strong mentality to outshine Yaa Asantewaa in the second quarter courtesy, Augustina Ackon and Naomi Tetteh’s goals.

Earlier in the first quarter Yaa Asantewaa scored a field goal during a goal mouth melee through Jennifer Amoah but surrounded their lead to their opponents who went on to win the trophy at stake.

For their effort each of the 18 participating schools was presented with a decoder and a certificate of participation to each  player.
Each of the schools was also presented with 18 hockey sticks, a hockey bag, eight balls, four sets of shin guards.

In the third placed matches, Accra Academy defeated Presec 1-0 through Dumenya Walker's first quarter goal to win the bronze medal, while a goal by Bridget Soka Lebene also gave Ebenezer Girls the edge over defending champions Kumasi Girls.

The President of the Ghana Hockey Association, Dr Ben Asante, commended the teams for their performances and indicated that the standard had improved over the previous years.

For his part, the Australian High Commission to Ghana, Mr Andrew Barnes, gave an assurance for his continuous support to the tournament, hinting that the High Commission will team up with hockey clubs in Australia to provide logistical support.

Mr Barnes revealed that the hockey sticks given out as prizes were donated by eight clubs in Melbourne as their support for the competition and expressed the hope that it would help in the development and promotion of the sport.