Thu, Mar

Latest Political News in Ghana

Grid List

Dr Kwabena Adjei: I am very happy that Akufo-Addo is President


Former national chairman of the National Democratic Congrress (NDC), Dr Kwabena Adjei says he is very happy that Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has been elected President of Ghana.

To him, Nana Addo’s age [72year] makes him an endowed person with lots of experience to lead the country.

“I’m happy because he comes with a wealth of experience that will help and then a certain respectability from the elder people,” Dr Adjei said in a radio interview on Wednesday night on Accra based Starr FM. 

Dr Kwabena Adjei: I’m not surprised NDC lost 2016 Elections


Former national chairman of the National Democratic Congress Dr. Kwabena Adjei has stated that he was not surprised that the NDC lost the 2016 presidential election.

According to him, the party was certain to lose after delegates failed to re-elect him for another term as chairman of the party.


Dr Kwabena Adjei: Mahama was surrounded by inexperienced appointees


A former national chairman of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) Dr Kwabena Adjei has opened up about some of the happenings in the party he led for nine years.

In a radio interview on Starr FM Wednesday evening, Dr Adjei said Former President John Mahama surrounded himself with “inexperienced” people.

Jake Obetsebi-Lamptey


President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has described the death of Mr Jake Obetsebi-Lamptey as the biggest gap in the 2016 electoral victory of the New Patriotic Party (NPP).

Speaking through a teleconference from Switzerland, President Akufo-Addo described Mr Obestebi-Lamptey as a “huge pillar” and “stalwart” of the party.

Nana Dr S.K.B. Asante


A constitutional lawyer, Nana Dr S.K.B. Asante, has stated that freedom of religion is a prerequisite to religious tolerance.

He emphasised that freedom of religion and religious tolerance were core values not only in constitutional democracies but in pluralistic societies which are undergoing the process of integration and national cohesion.

The Member of Parliament (MP) for Assin South, Reverend John Ntim Fordjour, has called for strict enforcement of gaming laws to stop the operation of illegal gambling facilities and sports betting shops in the country.

He asked also for the amendment of the Gaming Act 2006 (Act 721) to incorporate control measures to reduce the proliferation of gambling facilities in the country.

Bishop Kisseih (middle) leading the new apostles in prayers


The Founder and Head pastor of Life International Church, Bishop Gordon Kisseih,says it is too too early to criticise  President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo’s government. In his view, the President is still in the process of forming his government and does not warrant such early criticism.

Dr Mustapha Ahmed


A former Member of Parliament (MP) for Ayawaso-North, Dr Mustapha Ahmed, has denied media reports suggesting that he has unlawfully acquired a large tract of land at Prampram.

Mr Richard Quashigah


Two Members of Parliament (MP) have  called for a constitutional amendment to put a cap on the number of ministers that a President can appoint. In separate interviews with the Daily Graphic in Accra last Thursday, the Minority Members of Parliament (MPs) said the unprecedented appointment of 110 ministers and deputy ministers of state by President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, necessitated the need to amend the constitutional provision that did not limit the number of ministers that a President should appoint.

Roman Catholic Archbishop of Accra, Mr Charles Palmer-Buckle


The Roman Catholic Archbishop of Accra, Mr Charles Palmer-Buckle, has urged Ghanaians to contribute to national development and stop the blame game.  He said Ghana had reached the stage where blame games were not necessary; instead we should focus on contributing to national development as individuals.

110 ministers: Akufo-Addo urged to adopt E-governance systems


President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo may have genuine concerns of appointing a record number of 110 ministers to help him administer the country for the next four years, however, it is not the most convincing indicator of government’s willingness to ensuring efficiency in the delivery of its mandate, Penplusbytes, a not-for-profit organisation driving change through innovations using new digital technologies, has said.

In a statement, the organisation said: “Penplusbytes is deeply excited about the vision of Ghana’s President, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, to ensure progress and economic and social growth of the country.

Mr Mahama Ayariga (Bawku Central), who first made the allegation; Mr Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa (North Tongu), and Mr Alhassan Sayibu Suhuyini (Tamale North).


The delay in the release of the Joe Ghartey Committee Report on the bribery allegation against some members of the Appointments Committee of Parliament (ACP) is said to have been occasioned by the decision of the committee to allow for more evidence to be provided to assist in the investigation.

Dr Michael Ofori-Mensah


A senior research fellow of the Institute for Economic Affairs (IEA), Dr Michael Ofori-Mensah, has observed that the transition challenges encountered in 2017 are for the most part a manifestation of a breakdown of state institutions.

President Akufo-Addo answering a question from our Political Editor, Mr Kobby Asmah (middle). With them is Mr Abdul Moomen, an Editor with GTV.


With barely 73 days in office, President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo granted the Political Editor of the Daily Graphic, Mr Kobby Asmah, and an Editor of Ghana Television (GTV), Mr Abdul Moomen, an exclusive interview.

The interview centred on how His excellency was managing with the pressure that came with being President.

President, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo dismissed suggestions that he is running a parallel Civil Service with his appointment of 110 ministers


The President, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, has dismissed suggestions that he is running a parallel Civil Service with his appointment of 110 ministers to steer the affairs of state.

The President, who rejected the suggestions in an interview, indicated that the appointments were rather for him to have an insight into what was going on in various institutions such as the Public Procurement Authority (PPA).

GJA: Lloyd Evans raises constitutional breaches by national executives


Mr Lloyd Evans, following his disqualification from contesting the presidential race of the upcoming Ghana Journalists Association (GJA) elections has sent a petition to the Adjudication Committee raising a number constitutional breaches surrounding the elections.

He has subsequently prayed the committee to resolve the issues to enable him contest the elections slated for March 31, 2017.

The Afigya Kwabre South Constituency Chairman of the ruling New Patriotic Party  (NPP), Odeneho Kwaku Appiah has defended President Akufo-Addo’s 110 ministerial appointments and stated that the President rather deserves applause for his desire for emergency solutions to the “diseased” Ghanaian economy. 

Speaking to Graphic Online, Odeneho Appiah said President Akufo-Addo was handed a “diseased economy” by the National Democratic Congress (NDC) government.

NPP remembers Jake Obetsebi- Lamptey


The ruling New Patriotic Party (NPP) will on Monday March 20, 2017, mark the one year passing of their former National Chairman, Mr Jake Otanka Obetsebi- Lamptey. 

The former National Chairman of the NPP passed away on Sunday, March 20th , 2016 in London.